Goodbye 2010 …

Another year has come and gone and it always makes me think of a song from the Broadway Musical Rent – “Seasons of Love”, especially these lyrics:

Five hundred twenty-five thousand
Six hundred minutes,
Five hundred twenty-five thousand
Moments so dear.
Five hundred twenty-five thousand
Six hundred minutes
How do you measure, measure a year?

In daylights, in sunsets, in midnights
In cups of coffee
In inches, in miles, in laughter, in strife.

In five hundred twenty-five thousand
Six hundred minutes
How do you measure
A year in the life?

This year had some changes and milestones for our family …
We found a new church home and made lots of new friends, my husband and I began singing in the church choir, Devin and Lexi were both baptized, Ava Mae began Kindergarten, we took a week long trip to Disney World, we had several snow falls – including a white Christmas, we celebrated my Dad’s retirement after 38 years of teaching at the same high school, my husband and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary, we enjoyed a family reunion with all of my siblings – parents and nieces, and we began our 5th year of homeschooling.
I love looking back at my blog at the end of the year – realizing all the ways God has blessed our lives this year and answered prayers. My words for this year were “JOY” and “CONTENTMENT” – finding joy in everyday life and being content. I think in today’s society we can become so wrapped up in the next best house, car, life … it is so freeing to just be happy where God has planted us and with what he has given us.

Looking forward to 2011 … loving the journey!
Leave a Reply

